How to mend your heart


Did you know it takes on average six to eight weeks for the heart muscle to heal following an injury. The heart sustains injury during a heart attack or open heart surgery. During this time the heart is very vulnerable to overexertion, medications, stress, blood pressure, dietary effects of sodium, alcohol and caffeine. If the heart muscle sustained damage from lack of blood flow the heart “remodels” itself and the injured area becomes scar tissue, which isn’t flexible as the natural muscle and can effect the pumping ability. To maximize healing it is important to follow your physicians recommendations including taking medications and exercise.

To care for your heart you must understand what medications you should be on including how and why to take them. You must understand what are your personal risk factors that contributed to your heart disease and which ones you can modify. Risk factors include your cholesterol numbers, weight, blood pressure, diet, stress, family history, diabetes, blood clotting disorders, tobacco use and exercise habits.

If you have been discharged from the hospital following open heart surgery, a heart attack, angioplasty or stents chances are you were told to attend a cardiac rehabilitation program. There are many wonderful programs out there however it isn’t always possible or convenient for people. Many time the cost to attend is prohibitive, the travel and lost work time are also barriers. Much of the education  and rehabilitation can be done on your own in the convenience of your own home. Through this blog I can help direct you in your return to an active and healthy life.

Other links of mine include:

http://about.me/elizabeth.dole

http://families4health.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rehabilitate-your-heart/408061852550204

.Image

6 thoughts on “How to mend your heart

  1. Heart disease runs in my family (both sides) and I have recently been diagnosed with Diabetes, so I will be sure to follow this blog to learn all I can to keep my heart healthy. So far so good my heart is healthy and I plan on keeping it that way! Blessings, Patty

    • Thanks for the follow Patty. Heart disease is a big challenge. I hope I can help you and your family to lessen the tusk and know the symptoms to be watchful for. Blessings to you as well.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections,
    I feel you may find something of your interest.

Comments are closed.